Album Review: Ice Nine Kills – Every Trick In The Book

On December 4, 2015, the American metalcore Ice Nine Kills released their newest album, “Every Trick In The Book.” Each song is based on classic literature like Bram Stoker’s Dracula and William Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet along with many other novels. Some may not be as well know like Thomas Hardy’s Tess of the D’Urbervilles and Beatrice Spark’s Go Ask Alice.

The first three singles from the album were Me, Myself, and Hyde (based off The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson), Bloodbath & Beyond (based off Bram Stoker’s Dracula), and Communion of the Cursed (Based of The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty). Communion of the Cursed is the only one with a music video at the time, the other two have lyric videos.

The album has a theatrical feel with a bit of horror, like many of their other albums. My personal favorite tracks are Communion of the Cursed (it always gives me goosebumps), Me, Myself, and Hyde, The People in the Attic, and Bloodbath & Beyond. If you’re a fan of For All Those Sleeping (Incomplete Me is their latest album, released in 2014), Famous Last Words (I’d recommend Two Faced Charade), or Like Moths to Flames (When We Don’t Exist, 2011), Ice Nine Kills is a great band to get into or if you just want to try a different genre of music.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.